of the Court. A State that is not a member of the United Nations may, nevertheless, become a party to the Statute of the Court on conditions to be determined in each case by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Security Council. Thus, at the moment, the total number of parties to the Statute is 84—81 members of the United Nations and 3 non-members (Liechtenstein, San Marino and Switzerland). The Court is composed of 15 judges who are elected in individual capacities. Judge John E. Read of Canada was elected to the Court in 1946 and again in 1949.

## Subsection 3.—Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty

Within less than two years of the end of World War II in 1945 and the establishment of the United Nations, hopes of a lasting peace gave place to growing anxiety. The United Nations Security Council, which had been given responsibility for maintaining world-wide security, was deliberately prevented by the U.S.S.R. representatives from fulfilling this function. The Soviet Union maintained its armed forces after the War at a level that insured to itself a preponderance of military strength in Europe. The Soviet Government blocked attempts by the Western Powers to reach a peace settlement in Europe and communist parties were used as an instrument of Soviet policy to sabotage Western European efforts at economic recovery and political co-operation. Under these circumstances, the countries of the Atlantic community felt themselves in grave peril of Soviet aggression and communist subversion and therefore took special collective measures under the United Nations Charter to maintain peace.

The first step in this direction was taken in the spring of 1948 when Belgium, France Luxembourg, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom signed the Brussels Treaty establishing Western Union. On Apr. 4, 1949, as a result of negotiations between these countries and Canada and the United States, the North Atlantic Treaty was signed at Washington, D.C. This Treaty was accepted by all major groups of opinion in Canada and was passed without a single dissenting vote in Parliament.

The original signatories of the Treaty were Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States. In September 1951 it was agreed that Greece and Turkey should be invited to accede to the Treaty and they were admitted in February 1952. In October 1954 a protocol to the North Atlantic Treaty inviting the Federal Republic of Germany to join NATO was approved together with related arrangements which provided for the establishment of a Western European Union (composed of the Brussels Powers, the Federal Republic of Germany, and Italy) and for the restoration of full sovereignty to the Federal Republic of Germany. These measures, designed to bring the Federal Republic of Germany into close and enduring association with the Atlantic Community of free nations, were adopted following the failure of the European Defence Community Treaty which was rejected by the French Assembly in August 1954. On May 6, 1955, the Federal Republic of Germany deposited in Washington its instrument of accession to the North Atlantic Treaty and thus joined NATO as its fifteenth member.

The terms of the Treaty and the organization of the Council and subordinate committees are dealt with in the 1954 Year Book at pp. 113-115.

Developments during 1956-58.—The North Atlantic Council continued in permanent session at Paris, France, under the Chairmanship of the Secretary-General, Lord Ismay and his successor M. Paul-Henri Spaak whose appointment took effect in May 1957. Mr. L. D. Wilgress exercised his responsibilities as Permanent Representative of Canada to the Council until October 1958, when he was succeeded by Mr. Jules Leger, the former Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs. In addition to the regular meetings of the Permanent Representatives, Ministerial sessions were held at Paris in May and December 1956 and at Bonn in May 1957. In December 1957, the Heads of